Dear President, dear Ursula,

We welcome the letter of 1 March that you received from Chancellor Merkel and PM Frederiksen, PM Kallas and PM Marin. We share many of the ideas outlined in the letter. Indeed, there are some points that we find are of particular importance as we work to progress the digital agenda for the EU.

We certainly agree that our agenda must be founded on a good mix of self-determination and openness. Our approach to digital sovereignty must be geared towards growing digital leadership by preparing for smart and selective action to ensure capacity where called for, while preserving open markets and strengthening global cooperation and the external trade dimension. Digital innovation benefits from partnerships among sectors, promoting public and private cooperation. Translating excellence in research and innovation into commercial successes is crucial to creating global leadership.

The Single Market remains key to our prosperity and to the productivity and competitiveness of European companies, and our regulatory framework needs to be made fit for the digital age. We need a Digital Single Market for innovation, to eliminate barriers to cross-border online services, and to ensure free data flows. Attention must be paid to the external dimension where we should continue to work closely with our allies around the world and where in our interest, develop new partnerships.

We need to make sure that the EU can be a leader of a responsible digital transformation. Trust and innovation are two sides of the same coin. Europe's competitiveness should be built on efficient, trustworthy, transparent, safe and responsible use of data in accordance with our shared values. On this basis, we should cooperate with international actors.

Finally, we need skilling, upskilling and re-skilling, as well as access to the necessary tools and infrastructure. Let's not forget that part, no one should be left behind.

## Signed:

Krišjānis Kariņš, Prime Minister, Latvia

Andrej Babiš, Prime Minister, Czech Republic

Stefan Löfven, Prime Minister, Sweden

Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister, Luxembourg

Gitanas Nauseda, President, Lithuania

Alexander De Croo, Prime Minister, Belgium

Micheál Martin, Taoiseach, Ireland

Mateusz Morawiecki, Prime Minister, Poland